Black Theatre Live

LATEST NEWS

Do you have an idea for a musical? Apply to BEAM 2018.

30 August 2017

Do you have a new idea for a musical? 

Or perhaps you’re already developing one? Whether you’ve written a musical before or not, if you have a track record as a professional artist and an idea for a new musical, then we want to hear from you. 

Mercury Musical Developments and Musical Theatre Network are travelling around the UK, holding 15 pitching days to find around 40 new musicals in development to showcase to those with resources to help develop or stage them – at BEAM:2018, our biennial industry showcase. Find your closest pitching day venue below, then simply fill out an expression of interest form below before 25th September.

COMPLETE THE APPLICATION FORM HERE

BEAM Pitching Days

Saturday 30th September - Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama, Cardiff

Friday 6th October – Curve, Leicester

Wednesday 11th October - National Theatre of Scotland, Glasgow

Thursday 12th October - Dundee Rep Theatre, Dundee

Friday 13th October – Sage Gateshead

Monday 16th October – English Folk Dance & Song Society (Cecil Sharp House), London

Wednesday 18th October - New Wolsey Theatre, Ipswich

Thursday 19th October - Soho Theatre, London

Friday 20th October – Watford Palace Theatre & Rifco Arts, Watford

Tuesday 31st October - West Yorkshire Playhouse, Leeds

Thursday 2nd November - Nuffield Theatre, Southampton

Wednesday 8th November – Theatre Royal Stratford East, London

Monday 13th November – The Other Palace, London

Wednesday 22nd November – The Albany, London

Monday 27th November - Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Pitching Masterclasses
We’re also holding two masterclasses on how best to pitch your show: 

In London on Tuesday 12th September (7-9pm, RADA Studios) and in Manchester on Thursday 21st September (2.30-5pm, Royal Exchange). For more information on these, BEAM2018 in general and answers to all your questions about pitching to be included in BEAM, please go to http://www.beamshowcase.co

What participants said about BEAM2016:

‘BEAM was a bit like Cannes – for musicals. And the results were astonishing; brilliantly diverse material that proves musical theatre is alive and well in the UK... it was a celebration of the range and power of British writing talent.’ Kate Golledge, director

‘What was so fantastic about BEAM is that we were able to showcase our work, and support the work of our peers, in an inclusive and celebratory way. The overwhelming result was that, in a stronger sense than I've experienced thus far in my career, I was part of a real community. A community I am extremely proud to be a part of.’ Gus Gowland, musical theatre writer

‘In years to come, people are going to be talking about this as a Woodstock moment – you’re going to have to say you were there even if you weren’t.’ Jodi Myers, consultant and chair of MTN 

BEAM2018 is co-produced by Musical Theatre Network and Mercury Musical Developments, in association with Theatre Royal Stratford East.

James Hadley (Musical Theatre Network) and Victoria Saxton (Mercury Musical Developments)